New Hope of Indiana | Getting to Know Gary
For over forty years, New Hope of Indiana has been committed to supporting individuals and families, encouraging them to live their most independent, fulfilling lives. Through services for individuals with disabilities, counseling for families in the child welfare system and advocacy efforts, New Hope of Indiana is making an impact in our communities every day.
34971
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-34971,single-format-standard,tribe-no-js,tribe-bar-is-disabled,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-6.5,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.5,vc_responsive

Getting to Know Gary

29 Dec Getting to Know Gary

New Hope is lucky to serve some interesting individuals and this month, we met one of the most interesting. Gary Marshall has been served in New Hope’s Supported Living Program for many years and was excited to share a little more about himself this holiday season.

Q: What has New Hope meant to you over the years?
A: New Hope has given me a little love and they have shown great help. I’ve been a consumer for a long time. The many staff have been kind and have made some great food throughout the years.

Q: Did you celebrate the holidays differently than usual this year?
A: The holidays haven’t been any different really, we’ve had delicious food and great company. We don’t usually have many visitors at our house during the holidays but we always have cards from friends and family members in the mail.

Q: What has been the hardest thing to deal with during the pandemic?
A: Not being able to go out to eat or to a tavern. Heck, just not being able to go out anywhere has really stunk. It would be nice to go out, sit down and get a cup of coffee and a donut.

Q: What are you looking forward to the most in the New Year?
A: Trying to find a good Southern Gal.

Q: Describe yourself in less than 10 words.
A: Funny– a great jokester. I can be a chivalrous gentleman when I want. I’m a man’s man– poker, an adult beverage and shooting the breeze.

Q: If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?
A: Hmm, I’ve got to put some thought into that. Gatlinburg, Tennessee- where Southern hospitality reigns and the mountains mean you’re free.

Q: Who is someone that you love?
A: My Mom – she’s very faithful and she loves me. My family means the world to me. I couldn’t do anything without them. I still love my ex-wife Sheila and I miss her terribly.

Q: What is your favorite thing to do in the evening?
A: Bring plenty of change and get ready for poker and a good shot of whiskey among friends.

Q: What are your hobbies or interests?
A: Play cards and board games- especially monopoly. Shooting the breeze and having a good cup of coffee with friends.

Q: Do you work or attend day services usually? Tell me about it.
A: Once a week I would go to 57th street Day Program to hang out with some old friends.

Q: What are some of your goals or dreams?
A: Getting married and moving out to a farm. I used to work on a farm- I loved to plow and work with the cattle and raising the hogs. But phew! Those darn chickens were stinky- the eggs were cool but don’t fall into the coops- you’d drown in chicken poop. I still won’t eat chicken or turkey to this day. I loved raising cattle- they got to know my voice at feeding time and would come running. Cattle might not be great on their feet but they sure did have a lot of love for the farm hands.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.