A Note from Allison: April 2023

A Note from Allison: April 2023

April showers bring May flowers, but April also brings Volunteer Appreciation Month!

Thank you to all New Hope volunteers- we would not be able to do what we do without you!

I want to give a special thanks to New Hope’s Board of Directors and our Board Committee Members.  This amazing group of people provide governance and leadership to make New Hope the exceptional organization it is, and I (we) cannot thank them enough!  Gretchen Sussman, Chair; Pat Gamble-Moore. Vice Chair, Liz Hoover, CPA/PFS, Secretary/Treasurer and Chair of Audit/Finance Committee Jose’ Lusende, CFR, Development Committee Chair;  Steve Cook, Governance Committee Chair; Jen Scroggins, Marketing Committee Chair; Audra Blasdel; Loraine Brown; Sr. Francine Brown, D.C.; Jayme Donnelson, JD; Denise Irons; Devin Moore; Alan O’Rear; Bill Stinson; Parker Willis, CIC, and Susan Robinson, Emeritus.  Additionally, Todd Sears, CFA/CAIA and Dan Sailer CPA/ABV, CFA,  serve on our Finance Committee; Dr. Daryl Daugherty, serves on New Hopes’ Quality Assurance Committee; Mike Silver and Lonya Thompson (along with 30-45 active client participants) serve on New Hope’s Client Communication Committee; Lauren Palmer, Jen Northern and Ken Haupt serve on our Marketing Committee; and De’Niece Harrison-Hudson, Connor Killoren and Pam Evans serve on New Hope’s Development Committee.

In addition to our board and board committee volunteers we have additional volunteers that help with three other committees.  Linda Carroll sits on our ethics committee and Gary Larreategui; Barb Rzepka, Kathy Stretch, Susan Bloom and Linda Palmer serve on New Hope’s Human Rights Committee. Volunteers on our Silver Cup Committee (that have not already been mentioned) Denise Cook, Amy Johnson, Sally Esbaum and Sheri Alexander.

Also, a special shout out to the Kiwanis Club of Northwest Indiana who have been amazing volunteers for almost our entire 45-year history.  Follow this link to read about some of the other amazing volunteers we have highlighted on our social media pages this month. Last, but certainly not least, we want to thank retired New Hope associate, Kathe Rae who is here every Wednesday working with our day services program and leading our gardening group.

We appreciate our volunteers every month but want to say a special thank you to you this month! If you would like to join this amazing group of #TeamNewHope volunteers, email Maddie Bulkley at mbulkley@newhopeofindiana.org.

If you have travelled through Indianapolis’s top-rated airport recently, you may have seen the amazing art display in its Civic Plaza.  Thank you to New Hope board member, Bill Stinson, Sr. Director of Public Affairs Indianapolis Airport Authority, who is responsible for this first annual display of wonderful art created by individuals with disabilities. Congratulations Bill Samaras, for receiving the Lt. Governor’s Award. Bill was once a New Hope volunteer as he served on our Board of Directors for many years. He regularly reminds me that he hired me, and it is true!

Here’s to enjoying the May flowers the April showers have brought.



Share This Story!

Leave a Comment!